Online solicitation of a minor is a felony in Texas.
Being accused of such a crime is not something you should dismiss easily or ignore. Given the serious penalties that come with it, you must hire the best sex crimes defense available.
Soliciting a minor isn’t the only crime someone commits against a child, however.
Online solicitation of a minor
This happens when an adult communicates with a child who, by Texas law, is a minor under 17 years old, in a sexually explicit way. This involves the distribution of materials that are considered sexually explicit via electronic or text messaging service or via the internet.
The crime is punishable by 2 to 10 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000.
If the victim is under 14 years old, the crime is raised from third-degree felony to second-degree felony and penalties become steeper.
All convicted persons of online solicitation of a minor must register as a sex offender too.
Aggravated sexual assault of a child
This happens when an adult commits indecent sexual acts against a child younger than 14 years knowingly or intentionally. A person may be convicted if:
- There’s penetration of a child’s sexual organ or anus by any means.
- The sexual organ of a perpetrator penetrates a child’s mouth.
- They cause a child’s sexual organ to penetrate another person’s or the perpetrator’s anus, mouth, or sexual organ.
- They cause a child’s anus to contact another person’s or the perpetrator’s anus, mouth, or sexual organ.
- They cause a child’s mouth to contact another person’s or the perpetrator’s anus, mouth, or sexual organ.
The crime also covers serious bodily injury or any threats on any person that causes fear in a victim.
Super-aggravated sexual assault of a child
From the word super, this sex crime applies to cases when the normal punishment for aggravated sexual assault of a child is increased from 5-99 years imprisonment to 25 years imprisonment minimum. This because it’s a First-Degree Felony in Texas.
In this case, the alleged victim is 13 years old or under at the time that the crime was perpetrated. This also applies when the victim is under age 6 when the alleged offense happened.
Improper student/teacher relationship
Under Texas law, it’s prohibited for an educator to have a sexual relationship with a student. When proven guilty, a teacher faces a fine of up to $10,000 and imprisonment of up to 20 years.
Even when a relationship is consensual and the student is over 17 years old, a conviction can still be made.
An improper relationship is described by the Texas Penal Code 21.12 (a) (1) as sexual contact, sexual intercourse, or deviate sexual intercourse between a student and educator.
This law, however, is only specific to secondary and primary schools, which means college students and professors are exempted. Post-secondary school relationships are allowed as well.
Hire sex crime defense
When accused of online solicitation of a minor or any of the offenses listed above, consult with a lawyer immediately. The sooner you understand what you must do the better the potential outcome of your case.
On that note, speak to the attorneys at the Law Office of Paul Schiffer in Houston.